Visit Washington D.C.

Washington District of Columbia, commonly known as Washington DC or simply Washington, is the capital of the Unite States of America. It was founded on the 16 of July 1790, when the City of Washington separated from the Territory of Columbia until an act of Congress in 1871 merged them in a single entity called "the District of Columbia".

This is the reason why the city, legally named District of Columbia, is known as Washington D.C. The City is located on the north bank of the Potomac and is bordered by the state of Maryland to the north-east and to the state of Virginia to the south-west. The District has 591.000 inhabitants, but because of the people from the suburbs, during the working hours the population increases to more then 1.000.000.

The Washington metropolitan area, where the District is, has 5,3 million inhabitants and therefore the 8th metropolitan area is the biggest in the country.

Article One of the United States Constitution states that a federal district, serves as the permanent national capital. The centres of all the three Federal Government divisions are located in the District, as well as many museums and monuments of the nation.

Moreover, Washington D.C. hosts 174 foreigner embassies as well as the headquarters of the World Bank, of the International Monetary Fund (IMF), the Organization of American States (OAS), the Inter-American Development Bank, the Pan American Health Organization (PAHO) and many others organizations.

A peculiarity of the American Capital is that the United States Congress has supreme authority on Washington D.C. Therefore, its inhabitants have less control on the management of their own city then the citizens of the other states in the usa.

View Larger Map